Active Bangalore: Government Higher Primary School, Hunasamaranahalli, Bangalore North, awarded Karnataka State Government Model School Award

“My fondest memory of this school was that it was located in an open field in Bangalore North. We used to walk about 4-5 kms one way to reach the school.  The building was made of red stone, we had no benches, we used to sit on the floor. Tiolet breaks, were an excursion in itself, as we would go to the trees, laugh and play around.  However, we did not care… When it came to academics, I first learnt English and Hindi Alaphabets here. Mathematics was a nightmare though, as Bhadra, my teacher was a tough master. Sports Day was another celebration. Schools from neighbouring areas would participate, and that was my first tryst with games like Kho-Kho and Kabbadi”.

I only studied there for three years and completed my Grade 6, 7 and 8, after which I shifted to another school. Things changed, and I went on to complete my post graduation and began work as a Radio Jockey at the station. Even though I stay close by to the school, life took a different turn, till one day I heard from my neighbours that my school was awarded the Model School Award by the Karnataka State Government and Bhadra Sir, as we would address him was awarded the Best Teacher National Award.

I had to go see the school… Going back was nostalgic. The school had changed, infrastructure had improved. Bhadra Sir, now the headmaster, had tears in his eye, after the interview. And so did I… Take a listen to the interview and share your feedback

– RJ Padma Priya

IMG_20161022_195327_247.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

