#EcoTalk – Urban Conservationist Vijay Nishanth Talks About His Childhood Love of #Trees

IMG_20170601_122544

World Environment Day is observed on the fifth day of June every year. Radio Active CR 90.4 MHz marked the day by inviting some of the most passionate environmentalists and environment activists to share personal stories of change-making and to highlight the importance of the day.

One of our guests was Vijay Nishanth, an urban conservationist and animal activist, who is the co-founder of Project Vruksha and a vociferous promoter of tree transplantation as a conservation tool. He is popularly known as the ‘Tree Doctor’.

My love for nature, trees in particular, started early. My mother used to encourage me a lot, always telling me to plant trees and value them. I started not just observing but also studying the trees, down to their bark and stems. In Bengaluru, I was lucky to be staying in Jayanagar; that area is full of trees and it reminded me of my childhood, spent plucking fruits and flowers from tall trees. My expertise grew gradually, and I started applying this knowledge through my tree plantation activities and activism for tree transplantation. I recall one incident from my childhood very clearly. Suresh Heblikar (Kannada filmmaker, director, actor, and an environmentalist), the founder of Eco-Watch, had visited my school to deliver a lecture on environment protection. My inspiration for sustainability multiplied after that speech.

All our basic needs are fulfilled by nature. So, we must be kind to nature.

 

Listen in…

 

Written by Shruti Sharada.

Leave a Reply

