Honour Roll: Awards, Recognitions, Grants…


Ramya and RJ Shruti Sharada were at the Radio Connex Award organised by Radio and music.com in Mumbai. The oldest running show of the station, Yari Varu hosted by RJ Priyanka, and one of the newest shows hosted by RJ Shruti Sharad, and co-produced by Sandbox Collective won the ‘Best Community Radio Show Award’ Golds at the event.


RJ Shilok Mukkati was awarded  “Egalitarian Award” for the year 2018 during the Leadership Summit titled 1st Annual Transformational Leadership Summit & Innovative Excellence Awards 2018 “Empowering Innovations in Transformational Leadership – Educators For Education” held on- 28th April, 2018 by Surana Group of Educational Institutions.


Pinky Chandran was nominated as finalist for Namma Bengaluru Awards


RJ Shilok Mukkati was invited to perform with Swiss Dance Production called Chris Leuenberger Production working for Ef_Femininity project. The project was marriage of dance and theatre exploring the ideology of femininity and questioning the concept of gender and so. She was there from 25th February till April 10th. And she had her premier show at Dampsenstrale, Bern.

RJ Shilok Mukkati was invited as panelist for Queer and Young- Spaces, support and stories and Nanu Kannadiga Non Kannadiga panels.

RJ Shilok Mukkati along with RJ Priyanka was invited to TEDX MSRIT 2017 on September 9th as speakers for the talk Journalist and Jockey.

RJ Shilok Mukkati was awarded at the mega Alumni meet for all the batches from 1997 to 2016 at Jain University, JC Road Campus




RJ Shilok mukati for being the finalist at the Namma Bengaluru Foundation Awards under the media individual category. This is in recognition for her work with the sexual minorities through her work at Radio Active.(14th March, 2017)

India’s first transgender woman Akkai Padmashali was awarded with Ashoka Fellowship.(11th February, 2017)

RJ Shilok Mukkati was invited as one of the speakers at Bangalore Literature Festival on Literature from the Margins. (18th December, 2016)

Akkai Padmashali : India’s first transgender woman to be awarded an honorary Doctorate by the Indian Virtual University for Peace and Education (31st May 2016)


Radio Active received the first prize at the Annual National Community Radio Sammelan 2016 , under Thematic category for the program “Lesbians in the Shadow”, Yari Varu Season 2, hosted by RJ Shilok Mukkati


Ms. Pinky Chandran, invited to be the Master of Ceremonies for the   6th National Community Radio Sammelan , March 2016

Akkai Padmashali became the first transgender person to be conferred the Karnataka Rajyotsava Award 2015, the second highest civilian honour presented by the Karnataka State Government. ( 1st November 2015)

Ms.Pinky Chandran received the Australia India Youth Dialogue Alumni Grants for a small project on “Community Radio: Lessons from Australia”, which was co-authored by Archana Kapoor and edited by Ashish Chandra Sen designed by Ramya. The first edition, of this work in progress report was released on January 31 2016 at the AIYD Gala Dinner.


Ms. Pinky Chandran invited to be on the Jury for the 4th National Community Radio Awards, constituted by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India,  March 2015

Ms. Pinky Chandran, invited to be the Master of Ceremonies for the   5th National Community Radio Sammelan , March 2015

Ms. Pinky Chandran was the recipient of the Australia India Youth Dialogue Alumni Grants Award 2014, for the project Community Radio: Lessons from Australia. As part of the grant, she visited Australia, attended the annual community radio conference organized by CBAA and visited over 13 community radio stations, apart from meeting with key stakeholders. Stations included Three D Radio, Radio Adelaide and Tribe FM 91.1 Willunga in South Australia; 1CMS and 2XX in Canberra; Fox FM, Wollongong,  Rhema FM –Central Coast, Korrie Radio in NSW; 3MBS,  Joy FM,  2PBS, SYN Radio and 3CR in Victoria

RJ Priyanka amongst the finalists for Namma Bengaluru Awards, 2014.

unnamed (4)

RJ Priyanka and RJ Jaydev awarded the Suvarna Shree Awards for being Community  Role Models


Ms. Pinky Chandran invited to be on the Jury for the 3rd National Community Radio Awards, constituted by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India,  March 2014

Ms. Pinky Chandran, invited to be the Master of Ceremonies for the   6th National Community Radio Sammelan , March 2016

Mr. Marwan Abubaker, was invited by Andaman and Nicobar Islands’ Environmental Team ( ANET), as a Consultant to work on the Solid Waste Management project between ANET, the Clean City Championship Foundation (CCC) and Port Blair Municipal Council (PBMC). As part of the project, he was involved in mapping the informal sector, conducted the needs assessment survey, and worked on the IEC plan for sensitization. Period: December 2013 to May 2014

Ms. Ramya was  selected as an ‘Associate’ for 17th batch of Leadership Building Cohort program around the central theme ‘Leadership for Mainstreaming Conservation & Climate change Adaptation in Development planning and practices’ with LEAD India.

As part of the fellowship, she was required to attend four training programs across Goa, Bhopal, Delhi and Ladakh with specific thematic focus: Integrating Conservation& Climate Adaptation Business Sustainability, Integrating Conservation & Climate Adaptation in Urban Development, Opportunities and Challenges of Integrated Rural Development, Integrating Conservation& Climate Adaptation in Hills & Mountains Ecosystem

Community Web/SamudaayVaani (Bell Labs & Radio Active CR 90.4 MHz) chosen as  the winner of the mBillionth award, 2013



Ms. Pinky Chandran, selected for the inaugural  Australia India Youth Dialogue 2012, among 600 applicants and nominees.

The Australia India Youth Dialogue (AIYD) is a youth-led dialogue between the young leaders of Australia and India. The dialogue brings together 15 young Australian leaders and 15 young Indian leaders for talks on such issues as sustainability, social innovation, international security, FDI and education. 


RJ Priyanka chosen among the 52 finalists for Namma Benguluru Award, 2013

Radio Active wins the Third place in the Thematic Category for the radio program, Arogya ve Bhagya, at the National Community Radio Sammelan, New Delhi, 2012



Vijaya awarded on Women’s Day in Kolar, for her contribution to community radio and for being a role model( March 2012)


Radio Active won the Most Sustainable Community Radio Station in India, 2011 by Commonwealth Educational Media Centre for Asia

Solid Waste Management Round Table ( SWMRT) awarded the Namma Bengaluru Award, 2011 – CBO Category. Radio Active was part of the team

 RJ Auto Shiv Kumar among the finalists for Namma Bengaluru Awards, 2011



Ms. Priyanka awarded by Nammana Foundation for being the role model in the community ( 2011)

RJ Priyanka felicitated for being the role model for the LGBT community by Namana Foundation in a special function held 14th April 2011

Radio Active wins the Manthan Award, South Asia 2010 for being the Best Community Radio in South Asia


Radio Active’s Active Women program was the finalist at the Radio Duniya Awards, 2008